Silent Night – Christmas Piano Instrumental

Silent Night - Christmas Piano Instrumental by Fred McKinnon

Choose where to purchase or listen below

About the Album

“Silent Night” is the long-awaited Christmas piano instrumental by Fred McKinnon. It is his fifth piano instrumental overall.   The album features two original compositions, including “The First Snow” and “The Coronation”.

Other favorite, traditional Christmas carols are included to make this album a diverse group of original and traditional Christmas songs with different arrangements.

Track List:

  • Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
  • Silent Night
  • What Child is This
  • O Come All Ye Faithful
  • The First Snow
  • God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen / Carol of the Bells Medley
  • The Coronation

The album begins with Fred’s own, jazzy arrangement of “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” which is sure to put you in the Christmas spirit immediately.

The title song, “Silent Night”, is one of the songs on this album that is strictly solo piano with no accompanying instruments. This peaceful arrangement has a sweet, lullaby feel and is worshipful and reverent.

“What Child Is This” is one of Fred’s favorite Christmas carols. It’s one of the classics and features a beautiful waltz arrangement with string bass and violins.

Returning back to the simple, solo piano, Fred performs his arrangement of “O Come All Ye Faithful”.

Next on the album is one of two original compositions by Fred McKinnon. “The First Snow” was originally recorded as an episode in Fred McKinnon’s “Worship Interludes Podcast” which is a solo piano instrumental podcast featuring soft instrumental music for prayer, meditation, worship, and relaxation.

“God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen / Carol of the Bells Medley” is a fun, jazz arrangement that Fred arranged years ago to play during the “walk in” times before their Christmas services at his church. It’s been a standard in the pre-service music for many years and is exceptionally fun to play.

It starts out with a jazz rendition of the traditional carol, “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen” and then moves into a short rendition of “Carol of the Bells” – “TSO” (Trans Siberian Orchestra) style!

Special guest guitarist, James Luna, makes an appearance on this track with fantastic guitar work and an incredibly tasteful jazz solo before Fred takes the lead on his own jazz piano solo.

The final piece, “The Coronation” features full orchestra and was composed several years ago as an open to the Christmas Eve services at a local church where Fred worked.